How To Delete A Blog On Tumblr

Have you recently visited your Tumblr blog, and were very disappointed with that you have seen? Perhaps you need to completely update it with fresher information, as well as a newer and more visually-appealing theme. But instead of wasting your time editing posts and making adjustments to the current theme of your blog, why not delete it instead, then simply take everything from scratch? If you are not very knowledgeable about how to do this, then follow the step-by-step tutorials below and you will learn how to delete a blog on Tumblr in just a couple of minutes.

Method #1: Deleting the Blog

The simplest and most straightforward method available is deleting your Tumblr blog from its control panel.

Step 1: Log in to your Tumblr account. Keep in mind that deleting your primary Tumblr blog will result in terminating your account, so be careful not to choose this option if you still want to be a Tumblr user. To delete secondary blogs, they must not have any members (other administrators), otherwise the blog will not be deleted. Instead, it will simply be unliked from your account.
Step 2: Locate the gear icon at the top of the dashboard page, click on it, then select “Account Settings” from the drop-down menu.
Step 3: A list of your blogs will show up on the right side of the page. Select the blog you want to delete.
Step 4: You will be redirected to the control panel of the blog you want to delete. Scroll down to the bottom of the page until you see a “Delete This Blog” button at the bottom. If you selected your primary blog, you will see a “Delete Account” button instead. Click the button to continue the blog or account deletion process.

Remember that you will have to enter your Tumblr blog URL address, email and password again if you want to delete your primary blog. Any premium skins you purchased will be deleted, too. You can contact Tumblr support before deleting the blog to have the skins transferred to another blog. Any Tumblr credits will be deleted as well.

Method #2: Resigning Membership to a Blog

Another option you have for deleting a Tumblr blog is resigning its membership. Follow the guide below to see how.

Step 1: Log in to your Tumblr account with your credentials.
Step 2: Once you are prompted to your Tumblr dashboard, select the blog that you want to delete from the top of the page, next to the Tumblr logo. You can also click the “My Blogs” button, which appears as a bulleted list icon, then select the blog from the drop-down list that shows up.
Step 3: Click the “Members” button in the right sidebar.
Step 4: Select “Leave this blog” next to your Tumblr username.
Step 5: A dialog box will appear on the screen, warning you that resigning your membership will result in completely deleting the blog. Click “OK,” and you are done. If you selected your primary blog, then your account, premium skins and any credits will be deleted as well.

Final Thoughts

Once you successfully delete your blog, you can proceed to creating another, and designing it as desired. If you deleted your account, you will need to create another before you can build a new blog.